Your 2022 Municipal Election Candidates

Yesterday evening, election staff officially closed nominations and withdrawals for the 2022 Thompson Municipal Election, and drew lots for where candidate names would appear on the voting ballot.

A total of three candidates are running for the office of mayor, and 12 candidates are running for City Councillor:


  1. Colleen Smook
  2. Ron Matechuk
  3. Les Ellsworth


  1. Kathy Valentino
  2. Louis Fitzpatrick
  3. Cheiw Chong
  4. Addie Colbourne
  5. Brian Lundmark
  6. Sandra Orberdorfer
  7. Robert Chuckery
  8. Duncan Wong
  9. Joyce McIvor
  10. Earl Colbourne
  11. James McIntyre
  12. Rita Werstroh

The School District of Mystery Lake Board of Trustees has been acclaimed for 2022, with exactly 7 trustees filling seven seats. There will be no election of school board trustees on the 2022 ballot:

  1. Lindsay Anderson
  2. Michelle Tomashewski
  3. Abbie Humby
  4. Mike Lawson
  5. M. D. Sharker
  6. Henk Warnar-Brown
  7. Bryan Young

Advanced Polls October 10 and October 19

Advanced polling will be held at City Hall on Monday, October 10, 2022 from 9:00am to 6:00pm, and on Wednesday, October 19, 2022 from 8:00am to 8:00pm.

Election Day Is Entirely In The TRCC This Year

The 2022 Municipal Election will not be polled at schools. All in-person voting will take place in the TRCC on October 26, 2022, from 8:00am to 8:00pm, with the exception of the mobile polling stations at select locations.

Not Sure If You’re On The Voter’s List? Call Senior Election Official Norma Howitt at 204-679-4848!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s